INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

Saturday, February 19, 2022 10:00 AM

Commission Members:

DISTRICT 1 – TERRY NICOL DISTRICT 2 – JESSE SUSSELL DISTRICT 3 – LISA M. TRAN DISTRICT 4 – CURTIS W. HANSON AT-LARGE – DELORES COOPER AT-LARGE – CARLY MICHELE ALEJOS AT-LARGE – SHERRY SMITH DISTRICT 5 – WINSTON RHODES DISTRICT 6 – ELISABETH WATSON DISTRICT 7 – RANA CHO DISTRICT 8 – ANDREW FOX AT-LARGE – LUPE GALLEGOS-DIAZ AT-LARGE – RONALD K. CHOY

PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

Pursuant to Government Code Section 54953(e) and the state declared emergency, this meeting of the Independent Redistricting Commission will be conducted exclusively through teleconference and Zoom videoconference. The COVID-19 state of emergency continues to directly impact the ability of the members to meet safely in person and presents imminent risks to the health of attendees. Therefore, no physical meeting location will be available.

To access the meeting remotely using the internet: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Use URL <u>https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87810843440</u>. If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon on the screen.

To join by phone: Dial **1-669-900-9128 or 1-877-853-5257 (Toll Free)** and Enter Meeting ID: **878 1084 3440.** If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, press *9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

Written communications submitted by mail or e-mail to the Independent Redistricting Commission by 5:00 p.m. the Friday before the Commission meeting will be distributed to the members of the Commission in advance of the meeting and retained as part of the official record.

MINUTES

Roll Call: 10:02 a.m.

Present: Alejos, Weissman (for Cho), Choy, Cooper, Gallegos-Diaz, Hanson, Toub (for Nicol), Rhodes, Rosenthal (for Smith), Sussell, Watson.

Absent: Fox, Tran

Public Comment on Non-Agenda Matters – 9 speakers

Public Hearing

The public may comment on each item listed on the agenda for action as the item is taken up.

 Discussion, Review, and Direction on Draft City Council District Maps From: Independent Redistricting Commission Recommendation: Conduct a public hearing to discuss, review, and provide direction on the draft city council district maps. Contact: Mark Numainville, Commission Secretary, (510) 981-6900 Action: 29 speakers. Discussion held. M/S/C (Rhodes/Gallegos-Diaz) to remove the Violet Map from consideration. Vote: Ayes – Alejos, Choy, Cooper, Gallegos-Diaz, Hanson, Toub, Rhodes, Rosenthal, Sussell, Watson; Noes – None; Abstain – None; Absent – Weissman, Fox, Tran.

Commission Action Items

The public may comment on each item listed on the agenda for action as the item is taken up.

 Review and Approval of Table of Contents for Final Report From: Independent Redistricting Commission Recommendation: Review and approve the table of contents for the final map report to accompany the final map. Contact: Mark Numainville, Commission Secretary, (510) 981-6900 Action: 0 speakers. Discussion held. No action taken.

Subcommittee Reports – None

Subcommittees may provide verbal reports on their activities and discuss topics under their purview with the full commission. To take action on a subcommittee item, the topic must be agendized on the commission's Action Calendar.

Information Reports – None

Items for Future Agendas and Meeting Calendar

Discussion of items to be added to the next scheduled meeting calendar

 None

Discussion and possible modifications to the meeting calendar

 None

Adjournment

Action: M/S/C (Gallegos-Diaz/Rhodes) to adjourn the meeting. Vote: Ayes – Alejos, Choy, Cooper, Gallegos-Diaz, Hanson, Toub, Rhodes, Rosenthal, Sussell, Watson; Noes – None; Abstain – None; Absent – Weissman, Fox, Tran.

Adjourned at 1:10 p.m.

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct record of the Independent Redistricting Commission meeting held on February 19, 2022.

Mark Numainville City Clerk

Communications

Communications submitted to the Independent Redistricting Commission are on file in the City Clerk Department at 2180 Milvia Street, 1st Floor, Berkeley, CA and are available upon request by contacting the City Clerk Department at (510) 981-6908 or <u>redistricting@cityofberkeley.info</u> or may be viewed through <u>Records Online</u>.

Supplemental Communications 1

Item #1: Discussion, Review, and Direction on Draft City Council District Maps

- 216. Ranko Yamada
- 217. Catha Worthman
- 218. Louise Rosenkrantz
- 219. Elliot Halpern
- 220. Meghan Schwartz
- 221. Virginia Browning
- 222. Zipporah Collins
- 223. Catherine Hutchting
- 224. Mary Behm-Steinberg
- 225. Fan & Jim Albritton
- 226. Alexander Stec
- 227. Lloyd Lee & Lynanne Jacob
- 228. Charlotte Dickson
- 229. Erin Diehm
- 230. Barbara Fisher
- 231. Ellen Hahn
- 232. Sylvia Chapman
- 233. Elizabeth Koller
- 234. Thomas Mulvihill
- 235. Sarah Miyazaki

- 236. Janice Ching
- 237. Sharon Maldonado
- 238. Andy Katz
- 239. Allen Wagner
- 240. Firouzeh Nourzad
- 241. Bob Young
- 242. Robert Marsh
- 243. Ron Saturno & Stan Lusardi

Supplemental Communications 2

Item #1: Discussion, Review, and Direction on Draft City Council District Maps

- 244. George Porter
- 245. Ellen Meltzer
- 246. Dale Rose
- 247. William Roberts
- 248. Tine Munson
- 249. Jonathan Bailey
- 250. Linda Franklin
- 251. Marian Snyder
- 252. Deebie Symmes
- 253. Philip J. Jimenez
- 254. Mark Lowe
- 255. Russ Greene (2)
- 256. Chris Gilbert (2)
- 257. Thomas Luce
- 258. Linda Currie
- 259. Michaela Parks
- 260. Catherine Lazio
- 261. Gordon Wozniak
- 262. Ruth Phillips
- 263. Diane Quimby
- 264. Jan Knecht
- 265. Lisa & Tim Goodman