

Peace and Justice Commission Meeting September 19, 2022

Pursuant to March 17, 2020 Governor's Executive Order N-29-20, this meeting was held electronically.

MINUTES (Draft)

The meeting convened at 7:15 pm with George Lippman (Chair) presiding. Okeya Vance-Dozier, Community Service Specialist, Secretary.

SECTION A. PRELIMINARY MATTERS

1. Roll Call

Present: Lippman, Rodriguez, Bohn, Maran, Morizawa, Jacquilin, Gussmann

Absent: Leon-Maldonado (7:53pm)

Excused: Lee

Leave of Absence: None

2. Announcements

3. Comments from the Public

Public Attendance: 3 Public Comments: 3

4. Review and approval of meeting minutes

Peace and Justice Commission approved minutes from 8/15/22.

M/S/C: Morizawa, Maran

Ayes: Lippman, Bohn, Maran, Morizawa, Jacquilin, Gussmann

Noes: None Abstain: None

Absent: Leon-Maldonado, Rodriguez

Excused: Lee

5. Commission Updates & Chairperson's Report (No Action Taken):

6. Secretary's Report (No Action Taken)

SECTION B. DISCUSSION/ACTION ITEMS

7. <u>Discussion on Reinstating Burma/Myanmar in Berkeley Oppressive States Ordinance</u>

Action for the City of Berkeley to reinstate oppressive states list and be fully subject to the city's oppressive states ordinances.

M/S/C: Bohn, Morizawa

Ayes: Lippman, Bohn, Maran, Morizawa, Jacquilin, Gussmann, Leon-Maldonado

Noes: None Abstain: None Absent: Rodriguez Excused: Lee

8. <u>Discussion on Climate Justice as a focus of Commission Action in FY 2023</u>

No Action Taken.

M/S/C: Ayes: Noes: Abstain: Absent: Excused:

9. <u>Discussion and Possible Action on Abortion and Reproductive Services</u>

Access

No Action Taken.

M/S/C: Ayes: Noes: Abstain: Absent: Excused:

10. <u>Discussion on the Preservation of Shellmound</u>

Document will be revised and submitted to council.

M/S/C: Morizawa, Bohn

Ayes: Lippmann, Bohn, Maran, Morizawa, Jacquilin, Gussmann, Leon-Maldonado

Noes: None Abstain: None Absent: Rodriguez Excused: Lee

11. No communications received prior to meeting.

SECTION D. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 9:20 PM.

M/S/C: Lippman, Bohn

Ayes: Gussmann, Lippman, Maran, Bohn, Morizawa, Jacquilin, Leon-Maldonado

Noes: None Abstain: None Absent: Rodriguez Excused: Lee

Respectfully Submitted,

Okeya Vance-Dozier, Secretary Peace and Justice Commission