

# REIMAGINING PUBLIC SAFETY TASK FORCE Meeting Minutes

### Thursday, February 10, 2022 6:00 PM

District 1 -	Margaret Fine	Youth Commission - Nina Thompson
District 2 -	Sarah Abigail Ejigu	Police Review Commission - Nathan Mizell
District 3 -	boona cheema	Mental Health Commission - Edward Opton
District 4 -	Jamie Crook	Berkeley Community Safety Coalition - Vacant
District 5 -	Dan Lindheim	Associated Students of U. California - Alecia Harger
District 6 -	La Dell Dangerfield	At-Large - Vacant
District 7 -	Barnali Ghosh	At-Large - Liza Lutzker
District 8 -	Pamela Hyde	At-Large - Frances Ho
Mayor -	Hector Malvido	

## PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

Pursuant to Section 3 of Executive Order N-29-20, issued by Governor Newsom on March 17, 2020, this meeting of the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force will be conducted exclusively through teleconference and Zoom videoconference. Please be advised that pursuant to the Executive Order, and to ensure the health and safety of the public by limiting human contact that could spread the COVID-19 virus, there will not be a physical meeting location available.

To access the meeting remotely using the internet: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Use URL <a href="https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84701596327">https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84701596327</a>. If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon on the screen.

To join by phone: Dial **(669) 900 9128** and Enter Meeting ID: **847 0159 6327.** If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, press \*9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

Please be mindful that all other rules of procedure and decorum will apply for Commission meetings conducted by teleconference or videoconference.

Roll Call: 6:06 p.m.

Present: Fine, Ejigu, cheema, Crook, Lindheim, Ghosh, Hyde, Harger, Lutzker, Ho, Malvido,

Opton, Mizell, Dangerfield

Absent: Thompson

Thompson present at 6:10 pm

Public Comment on Non-Agenda Matters: 2 speakers

#### **Minutes for Approval**

Draft minutes for the Commission's consideration and approval.

Action: M/S/C (Mizell, Harger) to approve the minutes of January 24, 2022. Vote: Ayes – Fine, Ejigu, cheema, Crook, Lindheim, Ghosh, Hyde, Harger, Lutzker, Ho, Malvido, Opton, Mizell, Thompson, Dangerfield; Abstain: - None; Noes – None; Absent – None.

#### **Commission Action Items**

Action: M/S/C (Fine, Ejigu) to enforce a deadline of February 16 to submit minor changes to the content of the draft report. Vote: Ayes – Fine, Ejigu, cheema, Crook, Lindheim, Ghosh, Harger; Lutzker, Malvido, Opton, Mizell, Thompson, Dangerfield; Abstain: - Hyde, Ho; Noes – None; Absent – None.

Action: M/S/C (Fine, cheema) to include recommendations on Disability and Mental Health sessions in the final report. Vote: Ayes – Fine, Ejigu, cheema, Crook, Hyde, Lindheim, Ghosh, Harger; Lutzker, Ho, Malvido, Opton, Mizell, Thompson, Dangerfield; Abstain: - None; Noes – None; Absent – None.

Action: M/S/C (Mizell, cheema) to approve the draft of the full report with the caveat: 1) the Reconciliation Subcommittee is still working on compiling the report 2) no significant changes in terms of previous recommendations and 3) additional changes within already approved sections will be made prior to submission of the final report. Vote: Ayes – Fine, Ejigu, cheema, Hyde, Ho, Lindheim, Ghosh, Harger; Lutzker, Malvido, Mizell, Thompson, Dangerfield; Abstain: - Crook, Opton; Noes – None; Absent – None.

Public Comment on Agenda/Discussion Matters: 1 speaker

#### Adjournment

Action: M/S/C (Mizell/Opton) to adjourn the meeting.

Vote: Ayes – Fine, Ejigu, cheema, Crook, Hyde, Lindheim, Ghosh, Harger; Lutzker, Malvido, Opton, Mizell, Thompson, Dangerfield; Abstain: - None; Noes – None; Absent – Ho.

Adjourned at 8:36 p.m.

Next Meeting: None.

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct record of the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force meeting held on February 10, 2022.

\_\_\_\_\_

LaTanya Bellow – Commission Co-Secretary Shamika Cole – Commission Co-Secretary

#### **Communications**

Communications submitted to the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force are on file in the City Manager's Office at 2180 Milvia Street, 5th Floor, Berkeley, CA and are available upon request by contacting the City Manager's Office at (510) 981-7000 or <a href="mailto:rpstf@cityofberkeley.info">rpstf@cityofberkeley.info</a>.

