

Reimagining Public Safety Task Force

REIMAGINING PUBLIC SAFETY TASK FORCE Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, October 27, 2021 5:00 PM

District 1 -	Margaret Fine	Youth Commission - Nina Thompson
District 2 -	Sarah Abigail Ejigu	Police Review Commission - Nathan Mizell
District 3 -	boona cheema	Mental Health Commission - Edward Opton
District 4 -	Jamie Crook	Berkeley Community Safety Coalition - Jamaica Moon
District 5 -	Dan Lindheim	Associated Students of U. California - Alecia Harger
District 6 -	La Dell Dangerfield	At-Large - Vacant
District 7 -	Barnali Ghosh	At-Large - Liza Lutzker
District 8 -	Pamela Hyde	At-Large - Frances Ho
Mayor -	Hector Malvido	

PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

Pursuant to Section 3 of Executive Order N-29-20, issued by Governor Newsom on March 17, 2020, this meeting of the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force will be conducted exclusively through teleconference and Zoom videoconference. Please be advised that pursuant to the Executive Order, and to ensure the health and safety of the public by limiting human contact that could spread the COVID-19 virus, there will not be a physical meeting location available.

To access the meeting remotely using the internet: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Use URL https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84701596327. If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon on the screen.

To join by phone: Dial (669) 900 9128 and Enter Meeting ID: 847 0159 6327. If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, press *9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

Please be mindful that all other rules of procedure and decorum will apply for Commission meetings conducted by teleconference or videoconference.

Roll Call: 5:04 p.m.

Present: Fine, cheema, Ejigu, Lindheim, Hyde, Mizell, Lutzker, Crook, Opton, Harger,

Absent: Ghosh, Moon, Dangerfield, Malvido, Thompson, Ho

Ghosh present at 5:17 p.m. Ho present 5:18 p.m.

Public Comment on Non-Agenda Matters: 9 speakers

Minutes for Approval

Draft minutes for the Commission's consideration and approval.

Action: M/S/C (Hyde/cheema) to approve the minutes of 10/14/21. Vote: Ayes – Fine, cheema, Ejigu, Lindheim, Ghosh, Hyde, Ho, Crook, Mizell, Opton, Harger, Lutzker; Abstain: None; Noes – None; Absent – Malvido, Moon, Dangerfield, Thompson

Commission Action Items

- Action: M/S/C (Mizell/Hyde) add Ejigu, Moon, Crook and Thompson to the Improve and Reinvest subcommittee. Vote: Ayes – Fine, cheema, Ejigu, Lindheim, Ghosh, Hyde, Ho, Crook, Mizell, Opton, Harger, Lutzker; Abstain: None; Noes – None; Absent – Malvido, Moon, Dangerfield, Thompson
- Action: M/S/C (Mizell/Harger) remove Vice Chair cheema from the Improve and Reinvest subcommittee. Vote: Ayes – Fine, cheema, Ejigu, Lindheim, Ghosh, Hyde, Ho, Crook, Mizell, Opton, Harger, Lutzker; Abstain: None; Noes – None; Absent – Malvido, Moon, Dangerfield, Thompson
- Action: M/S/C (Mizell/Ejigu) add November 18 and December 2 to the meeting schedule. Vote: Ayes – Fine, cheema, Ejigu, Lindheim, Ghosh, Hyde, Ho, Crook, Mizell, Opton, Harger, Lutzker; Abstain: None; Noes – None; Absent – Malvido, Moon, Dangerfield, Thompson

Public Comment on Agenda/Discussion Matters: 1 speaker

Items for Future Agenda

• Task Force recommendations

<u>Adjournment</u>

Action: M/S/C (Lindheim/Opton) to adjourn the meeting.

Vote: Ayes – Fine, cheema, Ejigu, Lindheim, Ghosh, Hyde, Ho, Opton, Harger, Lutzker; Abstain: None; Noes – None; Absent – Malvido, Moon, Dangerfield, Thompson, Mizell, Crook

Adjourned at 7:11 p.m.

Next Meeting – November 18, 2021.

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct record of the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force meeting held on October 26, 2021.

Respectfully Submitted,

LaTanya Bellow – Commission Co-Secretary Shamika Cole – Commission Co-Secretary

Communications

Communications submitted to the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force are on file in the City Manager's Office at 2180 Milvia Street, 5th Floor, Berkeley, CA and are available upon request by contacting the City Manager's Office at (510) 981-7000 or rpstf@cityofberkeley.info.