

REIMAGINING PUBLIC SAFETY TASK FORCE Meeting Minutes

Thursday, June 10, 2021 6:00 PM

District 1 -	Margaret Fine	Youth Commission - Nayo Polk
District 2 -	Sarah Abigail Ejigu	Police Review Commission - Nathan Mizell
District 3 -	boona cheema	Mental Health Commission - Edward Opton
District 4 -	Paul Kealoha Blake	Berkeley Community Safety Coalition - Todd Walker
District 5 -	Dan Lindheim	Associated Students of U. California - Alecia Harger
District 6 -	La Dell Dangerfield	At-Large - Alex Diaz
District 7 -	Barnali Ghosh	At-Large - Liza Lutzker
District 8 -	Pamela Hyde	At-Large - Frances Ho
Mayor -	Hector Malvido	

PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

Pursuant to Section 3 of Executive Order N-29-20, issued by Governor Newsom on March 17, 2020, this meeting of the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force will be conducted exclusively through teleconference and Zoom videoconference. Please be advised that pursuant to the Executive Order, and to ensure the health and safety of the public by limiting human contact that could spread the COVID-19 virus, there will not be a physical meeting location available.

To access the meeting remotely using the internet: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Use URL https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81983354907. If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon on the screen.

To join by phone: Dial **(669) 900 9128** and Enter Meeting ID: **819 8335 4907.** If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, press *9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

Please be mindful that all other rules of procedure and decorum will apply for Commission meetings conducted by teleconference or videoconference.

Roll Call: 6:02 p.m.

Present: Fine, cheema, Lindheim, Dangerfield, Ghosh, Hyde, Opton, Harger, Lutzker, Ho, Mizell

Absent: Ejigu, Blake, Malvido, Polk, Walker, Diaz

Commissioner Ejigu present at 6:05 p.m.

Public Comment on Non-Agenda Matters: 1 speaker

Minutes for Approval

Draft minutes for the Commission's consideration and approval.

Action: M/S/C (Mizell/cheema) to approve the minutes of 5/19/21. Vote: Ayes - Fine, Ejigu, cheema, Lindheim, Dangerfield, Ghosh, Hyde, Opton, Harger, Mizell, Lutzker, Ho; Noes -None; Absent - Blake, Malvido, Polk, Walker, Diaz

Commission Action Items

Action: M/S/C (Mizell/Hyde) to limit Task Force presentations to twenty minutes. Vote: Ayes -Fine, Ejigu, cheema, Lindheim, Dangerfield, Ghosh, Hyde, Opton, Lutzker, Mizell; Noes -None; Absent - Blake, Malvido, Polk, Walker, Harger, Diaz, Ho

Public Comment on Agenda/Discussion Matters: 3 speakers

Items for Future Agenda

- Improve and Reinvest Subcommittee
- **Recorded Presentations**

<u>Adjournment</u>

Action: M/S/C (Mizell/Opton) to adjourn the meeting.

Vote: Ayes - Fine, Ejigu, cheema, Lindheim, Dangerfield, Ghosh, Hyde, Opton, Lutzker, Mizell; Noes - None; Absent - Blake, Malvido, Polk, Walker, Harger, Diaz, Ho

Adjourned at 11:04 p.m.

Next Meeting – June 30, 2021.

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct record of the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force meeting held on June 10, 2021.

Respectfully Submitted,

David White - Commission Co-Secretary

Shamika Cole – Commission Co-Secretary

Communications

Communications submitted to the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force are on file in the City Manager's Office at 2180 Milvia Street, 5th Floor, Berkeley, CA and are available upon request by contacting the City Manager's Office at (510) 981-7000 or rpstf@cityofberkeley.info.