

REIMAGINING PUBLIC SAFETY TASK FORCE Meeting Minutes

Thursday, April 8, 2021 6:00 PM

District 1 -	Margaret Fine	Youth Commission - Nayo Polk
District 2 -	Sarah Abigail Ejigu	Police Review Commission - Nathan Mizell
District 3 -	boona cheema	Mental Health Commission - Edward Opton
District 4 -	Paul Kealoha Blake	Berkeley Community Safety Coalition - Todd Walker
District 5 -	Dan Lindheim	Associated Students of U. California - Alecia Harger
District 6 -	La Dell Dangerfield	At-Large - Alex Diaz
District 7 -	Barnali Ghosh	At-Large - Liza Lutzker
District 8 -	Pamela Hyde	At-Large - Frances Ho
Mayor -	Hector Malvido	

PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

Pursuant to Section 3 of Executive Order N-29-20, issued by Governor Newsom on March 17, 2020, this meeting of the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force will be conducted exclusively through teleconference and Zoom videoconference. Please be advised that pursuant to the Executive Order, and to ensure the health and safety of the public by limiting human contact that could spread the COVID-19 virus, there will not be a physical meeting location available.

To access the meeting remotely using the internet: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Use URL https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81983354907. If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon on the screen.

To join by phone: Dial (669) 900 9128 and Enter Meeting ID: 819 8335 4907. If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, press *9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

Please be mindful that all other rules of procedure and decorum will apply for Commission meetings conducted by teleconference or videoconference.

Roll Call: 6:01 p.m.

Present: Cheema, Dangerfield, Ejigu, Fine, Ghosh, Lindheim, Mizell, Harger, Diaz,

Lutzker, Ho

Absent: Walker, Blake, Malvido, Opton, Hyde, Polk

Commissioner Blake present at 6:06 p.m. Commissioner Opton present at 6:06 p.m. Commissioner Malvido present at 6:09 p.m. Commissioner Hyde present at 6:11 p.m. Commissioner Walker present at 7:51 p.m.

Public Comment on Non-Agenda Matters: 1 speaker

Minutes for Approval

Draft minutes for the Commission's consideration and approval.

Action: M/S/C (Mizell/cheema) to approve the minutes of 3/11/21. Vote: Ayes – Fine, cheema, Dangerfield, Hyde, Harger, Lindheim, Ghosh, Ejigu, Opton, Blake, Malvido, Mizell, Diaz, Lutzker, Ho; Noes – None; Absent – Walker, Polk.

Commission Action Items

1. Special Task Force Meeting Dates (April 29, 2021, *Tentative Dates for discussion: May 19, 2021 and June 30, 2021*)

Action: 2 Speakers. M/S/C (cheema/Mizell) to approve and establish April 29, 2021, May 19, 2021 and June 30, 2021 as Special Meeting dates.

Vote: Ayes - Malvido, Mizell, Opton, Fine, cheema, Ejigu, Lindheim, Blake, Hyde, Diaz, Lutzker, Walker, Harger, Ghosh; Abstain - None; Noes – None; Absent - Dangerfield, Polk, Ho.

2. Subcommittee Discussion

Action: M/S/C (Fine/Mizell) to establish the Community Engagement Subcommittee

Subcommittee Members: Harger, Ejigu, Fine, Blake, Malvido, Lutzker

Vote: Ayes - Malvido, Mizell, Opton, Fine, cheema, Ejigu, Lindheim, Walker, Blake, Hyde, Diaz, Lutzker, Ghosh; Dangerfield, Harger; Abstain - None; Noes - None; Absent - Polk, Ho.

Action: M/S/C (Mizell/Blake) to establish the Policing, Budget and Alternatives to Policing Subcommittee

Subcommittee Members: Dangerfield, Lindheim, cheema, Mizell, Hyde, Harger, Ghosh, Opton

Vote: Ayes - Malvido, Mizell, Opton, Fine, cheema, Ejigu, Lindheim, Walker, Blake, Hyde, Diaz, Lutzker, Ghosh; Dangerfield, Harger; Abstain - None; Noes - None; Absent - Polk, Ho.

Items for Future Agenda

- Community Engagement Survey discussion (continued)
- Subcommittee discussion

<u>Adjournment</u>

Action: M/S/C (cheema/Mizell) to adjourn the meeting.

Vote: All Ayes

Adjourned at 10:16 p.m.

Next Meeting – April 29, 2021.

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct record of the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force meeting held on April 8, 2021.

Respectfully Submitted,

David White – Commission Co-Secretary Shamika Cole – Commission Co-Secretary

Communications

Communications submitted to the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force are on file in the City Manager's Office at 2180 Milvia Street, 5th Floor, Berkeley, CA and are available upon request by contacting the City Manager's Office at (510) 981-7000 or rpstf@cityofberkeley.info.