

ENVIRONMENT AND CLIMATE COMMISSION MINUTES Wednesday, January 18, 2023

Tregub, Igor	Mayor	Mayor
Ranney, Sarah	Kesarwani	District 1
Hedlund, Marc	Taplin	District 2
McGuire, Brianna	Bartlett	District 3
Tahara, Daniel	Harrison	District 4
Allen, Shannon	Hahn	District 5
Guliasi, Les	Wengraf	District 6
Lunaparra, Cecilia	Robinson	District 7
Gould, Ben	Droste	District 8

1. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Billi Romain at 6:03 p.m. Commissioners Present: Tregub, Ranney, Hedlund, McGuire, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra, Gould Commissioner Leave of Absence: Tahara Commissioner Absent: None Staff: Billi Romain, Rebecca Milliken

- Public Comments and Announcements: 2 member(s) of the Public 1 comment(s)
- 3. Approval of Minutes:

Motion/second to approve the November 30, 2022 Minutes (Guliasi, Lunaparra). The motion carried 8-0-0-1; Ayes: Tregub, Ranney, Hedlund, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra, Gould. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Tahara

- 4. Agenda Check
- 5. Update from Chair
- 6. Update from Staff
 - a. In-person meetings
 - b. Climate Equity Pilot Fund
 - c. Youth Commissioner
 - d. Gas Station Warning Labels & Used Gas Car Ban
 - e. BESO minimum requirements:
 - f. Gas Prohibition amendments
 - g. Staffing

7. Reports from Commission Liaisons

- a. Planning Commission (Gould)
- b. Transportation and Infrastructure (McGuire)
- c. Parks, Recreation and Waterfront Commission (Lunaparra
- d. Zero Waste Commission (Ranney)
- e. Disaster and Fire Safety Commission (Guliasi)
- f. Housing Advisory Commission (Hedlund)
- g. Zoning Adjustments Board (Tregub)

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

- 8. Workplan Subcommittee Updates
 - a. Zoning Changes to Encourage EV Charging/ Discourage Gas Stations Subcommittee (McGuire, Allen, Lunaparra, Tahara)
 - b. Transportation Public Space Reallocation Subcommittee (Hedlund, McGuire, Lunaparra, Gould)
 - c. Native Plants and Pesticide Reduction Subcommittee (Ranney, McGuire, Allen

9. Draft Workplan Discussion

10. Items for Future Agenda

- Lead Paint
- 2023 Workplan
- 2023 Officer Elections
- BESO minimum requirements

INFORMATION ITEMS

- 11. Communications
- 12. Announcements from Commissioners

ADJOURNMENT

Motion/second to adjourn at 7:53pm (Hedlund; McGuire). The motion carried 8-0-0-1; Ayes: Tregub, Ranney, Hedlund, McGuire, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra, Gould. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Tahara

Minutes Approved:

/S/ Billi Romain, Berkeley Energy Commission Secretary