

ENVIRONMENT AND CLIMATE COMMISSION DRAFT MINUTES Wednesday, November 30, 2022

Tregub, Igor	Mayor	Mayor
Ranney, Sarah	Kesarwani	District 1
Hedlund, Marc	Taplin	District 2
McGuire, Brianna	Bartlett	District 3
Tahara, Daniel	Harrison	District 4
Allen, Shannon	Hahn	District 5
Guliasi, Les	Wengraf	District 6
Lunaparra, Cecilia	Robinson	District 7
Gould, Ben	Droste	District 8

1. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Billi Romain at 5:01 p.m.

Commissioners Present: Tregub, Ranney, Hedlund, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi,

Lunaparra, Gould

Commissioner Leave of Absence: None

Commissioner Absent: None

Staff: Billi Romain, Rebecca Milliken, Valerie Nguyen

2. Public Comments and Announcements:

2 member(s) of the Public

1 comment(s)

3. Approval of Minutes:

Motion/second to approve the October 19, 2022 Minutes (Hedlund, Allen). The motion carried 8-0-1-0; Ayes: Ranney, Hedlund, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra, Gould. Noes: None. Abstain: Tregub. Absent: None

- 4. Agenda Check
- 5. Update from Chair
- 6. Update from Staff

7. Reports from Commission Liaisons

- a. Planning Commission (Gould)
- b. Transportation and Infrastructure (McGuire)
- c. Parks, Recreation and Waterfront Commission (Lunaparra)
- d. Zero Waste Commission (Ranney)
- e. Disaster and Fire Safety Commission (Guliasi)
- f. Housing Advisory Commission (Hedlund)

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

8. Workplan Subcommittee Updates

- a. Zoning Changes to Encourage EV Charging/ Discourage Gas Stations Subcommittee (McGuire, Allen, Lunaparra, Tahara)
- b. Transportation Public Space Reallocation Subcommittee (Hedlund, McGuire, Lunaparra, Gould)
- c. Native Plants and Pesticide Reduction Subcommittee (Ranney, McGuire, Allen):

9. 2023 Meeting Calendar

Motion/second to approve the proposed calendar with a start time of 6pm (Gould, Tregub). The motion carried 9-0-0-0; Ayes: Tregub. Ranney, Hedlund, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra, Gould. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None

10. Items for Future Agenda

INFORMATION ITEMS

- 11. Communications
- 12. Announcements from Commissioners

ADJOURNMENT

Motion/second to adjourn at 6:15pm (Guliasi; Allen). The motion carried 9-0-0-0; Ayes: Tregub, Ranney, Hedlund, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra, Gould. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None

Minutes Approved:

/S/ Billi Romain, Berkeley Energy Commission Secretary