# INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

# Thursday, February 17, 2022 6:00 PM

#### Commission Members:

DISTRICT 1 – TERRY NICOL
DISTRICT 5 – WINSTON RHODES
DISTRICT 2 – JESSE SUSSELL
DISTRICT 3 – LISA M. TRAN
DISTRICT 7 – RANA CHO
DISTRICT 4 – CURTIS W. HANSON
DISTRICT 8 – ANDREW FOX
AT-LARGE – DELORES COOPER
AT-LARGE – LUPE GALLEGOS-DIAZ
AT-LARGE – SHERRY SMITH

# PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

Pursuant to Government Code Section 54953(e) and the state declared emergency, this meeting of the Independent Redistricting Commission will be conducted exclusively through teleconference and Zoom videoconference. The COVID-19 state of emergency continues to directly impact the ability of the members to meet safely in person and presents imminent risks to the health of attendees. Therefore, no physical meeting location will be available.

To access the meeting remotely using the internet: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Use URL <a href="https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81072988964">https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81072988964</a>. If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon on the screen.

To join by phone: Dial **1-669-900-9128 or 1-877-853-5257 (Toll Free)** and Enter Meeting ID: **810 7298 8964.** If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, press \*9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

Written communications submitted by mail or e-mail to the Independent Redistricting Commission by 5:00 p.m. the Friday before the Commission meeting will be distributed to the members of the Commission in advance of the meeting and retained as part of the official record.

#### **MINUTES**

**Roll Call:** 6:06 p.m.

**Present:** Alejos, Cho, Choy, Cooper, Fox, Gallegos-Diaz, Hanson, Nicol, Rhodes,

Smith, Sussel, Tran, Watson.

**Public Comment on Non-Agenda Matters** – 0 speakers

# **Minutes for Approval**

Draft minutes for the Commission's consideration and approval.

1. Minutes – January 27, 2022 regular meeting

Action: M/S/C (Rhodes/Tran) to approve the minutes of January 27, 2022.

Vote: All Ayes.

# **Public Hearing**

The public may comment on each item listed on the agenda for action as the item is taken up.

2. Discussion, Review, and Direction on Draft City Council District Maps From: Independent Redistricting Commission

**Recommendation:** Conduct a public hearing to discuss, review, and provide direction on the draft city council district maps.

Contact: Mark Numainville, Commission Secretary, (510) 981-6900

**Action:** 21 speakers. Discussion held. The Commission requested that staff prepare an analysis of two potential changes to Amber Map Version 2 prior to the February 19, 2022 meeting, including: 1) Moving a portion of the District 4/District 7 boundary from Fulton Street to Ellsworth street; and 2) Using Dwight Way as the northern border of District 3.

#### **Commission Action Items**

The public may comment on each item listed on the agenda for action as the item is taken up.

3. Review and Approval of Table of Contents for Final Report From: Independent Redistricting Commission

**Recommendation:** Review and approve the table of contents for the final map report to accompany the final map.

Contact: Mark Numainville, Commission Secretary, (510) 981-6900

**Action:** 0 speakers. Discussion held. The Commission directed that the draft letters to the community and the City Council be included in the February 28, 2022 agenda packet for review.

# Subcommittee Reports - None

Subcommittees may provide verbal reports on their activities and discuss topics under their purview with the full commission. To take action on a subcommittee item, the topic must be agendized on the commission's Action Calendar.

# **Information Reports - None**

# **Items for Future Agendas and Meeting Calendar**

- Discussion of items to be added to the next scheduled meeting calendar
  - o Review of Letters to Public and Council in Final Report
- Discussion and possible modifications to the meeting calendar
  - o None

# **Adjournment**

Action: M/S/C (Gallegos-Diaz/Cho) to adjourn the meeting.

Vote: All Ayes.

Adjourned at 9:05 p.m.

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct record of the Independent Redistricting Commission meeting held on February 17, 2022.

Mark Numainville
City Clerk

#### **Communications**

Communications submitted to the Independent Redistricting Commission are on file in the City Clerk Department at 2180 Milvia Street, 1st Floor, Berkeley, CA and are available upon request by contacting the City Clerk Department at (510) 981-6908 or <a href="mailto:redistricting@cityofberkeley.info">redistricting@cityofberkeley.info</a> or may be viewed through <a href="mailto:Records Online">Records Online</a>.

#### Item #2: Discussion, Review, and Direction on Draft City Council District Maps

- 105. Henry Norr
- 106. Yes Duffy
- 107. Mary Lou Van Deventer, Urban Ore Inc.
- 108 Ben Gould
- 109. Nina Zurier
- 110. Chris Horgan
- 111. Amy Hill
- 112. Steven Donaldson
- 113. Toni Mester
- 114. Marc Treib
- 115. Jane Franch

- 116. Adam Fuchs
- 117. Lucy Smallsreed
- 118. Jill Korte
- 119. Joan Baylie & Jim Mullins
- 120. Lindsey Anne

# **Supplemental Communications**

#### Item #2: Discussion, Review, and Direction on Draft City Council District Maps

- 121. Stephanie Allan
- 122. Jack Kurzweil
- 123. Tom McMlllan
- 124. Daniel Tahara
- 125. Alfred Twu
- 126. Sally Nelson
- 127. Elana Auerbach
- 128. Rob Wrenn
- 129. Kelly Hammargren
- 130. Pamela Blotner
- 131. Peggy Mendelson
- 132. Summer Brenner
- 133. David Fielder
- 134. Jean Tepperman
- 135. Toni Mester
- 136. Sarah Bell
- 137. Mona Bernstein & Mark Lempert
- 138. Arnold Kessler
- 139. David Ushijima
- 140. Julianna S. Dickey
- 141. William Bogert (2)
- 142. Nancy Schimmel
- 143. Linda Franklin
- 144. Deejay Imortal
- 145. Ned Himmel
- 146. Yolanda Huang
- 147. Mary Ann Fabbri
- 148. Mary White
- 149. Sheila Goldmacher
- 150. Diana Bohn
- 151. Cindy Shamban
- 152. Carol Benioff
- 153. Kinga Chomicz
- 154. Phil Allen
- 155. James Loza
- 156. amtaylor
- 157. Daniel Caraco
- 158. Rebecca Tracy

- 159. Stefanie Guynn
- 160. Harald Leventhal
- 161. Suzanne Stewart
- 162. Zelda Bronstein
- 163. Commissioner Ronald Choy
- 164. Mary Rose
- 165. Alyse Jacobson
- 166. Steve Kamman
- 167. Shirley Dean
- 168. Margaret Goodman
- 169. Janice Murota
- 170. Andrew Page
- 171. Jon Stewart
- 172. David Clore
- 173. Jonathan Cohen
- 174. Sandra & Karl Bemesderfer
- 175. Anita Barrows
- 176. Patricia Edwards
- 177. Ginny Garrett
- 178. Patrick Sheahan
- 179. Holly Scheider, McGee Spaulding Neighbors in Action
- 180. Janet Stromberg
- 181. John Blaustein
- 182. Nina Torcoletti
- 183. Holly Scheider (2)
- 184. Carolyn Scarr
- 185. Margo Smith
- 186. Hali Hammer
- 187. Linda Olivenbaum
- 188. Nico Calavita
- 189. Barbara Cleveland
- 190. T.F. Tierney
- 191. Donna Mickleson
- 192. Dan Feinberg
- 193. Michael Weber
- 194. Andrea Mullarkey, SEIU 1021 City of Berkeley CSU/PTRLA
- 195. George Lippman
- 196. Phoebe Thomas Sorgen
- 197. Edward Opton (2)
- 198. Elizabeth Ozol
- 199. Barbara Schick
- 200. Charlene Woodcock
- 201. Thomas Luce
- 202. Michael Katz
- 203. Cary Sanders
- 204. Vincent Casalaina

- 205. Greysonne Coomes
- 206. Ivan & Sarah Diamond
- 207. Cate Leger
- 208. Theo Posselt (Berkeley Neighbors for Housing and Climate Action, District 6); Ben Gould (Berkeley Neighbors for Housing and Climate Action, District 4); Grayson Peters (More Student Housing Now, District 7); Libby Lee-Egan (North Berkeley Now!, District 1)
- 209. Ben Gould
- 210. Carla Woodworth
- 211. Chimey Lee
- 212. Berkeley Tenants Union
- 213. Janice Schroeder
- 214. Winston Burton
- 215. Larry Snyder