# INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

# Wednesday, December 1, 2021 6:00 PM

#### Commission Members:

DISTRICT 1 – TERRY NICOL
DISTRICT 5 – WINSTON RHODES
DISTRICT 2 – JESSE SUSSELL
DISTRICT 6 – ELISABETH WATSON
DISTRICT 3 – LISA M. TRAN
DISTRICT 7 – RANA CHO
DISTRICT 4 – CURTIS W. HANSON
DISTRICT 8 – ANDREW FOX
AT-LARGE – DELORES COOPER
AT-LARGE – LUPE GALLEGOS-DIAZ
AT-LARGE – CARLY MICHELE ALEJOS
AT-LARGE – RONALD K. CHOY

# PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

Pursuant to Government Code Section 54953(e) and the state declared emergency, this meeting of the Independent Redistricting Commission will be conducted exclusively through teleconference and Zoom videoconference. The COVID-19 state of emergency continues to directly impact the ability of the members to meet safely in person and presents imminent risks to the health of attendees. Therefore, no physical meeting location will be available.

To access the meeting remotely using the internet: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Use URL <a href="https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84948847183">https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84948847183</a> If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon on the screen.

To join by phone: Dial **1-669-900-9128 or 1-877-853-5257 (Toll Free)** and Enter Meeting ID: **849 4884 7183**. If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, press \*9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

Written communications submitted by mail or e-mail to the Independent Redistricting Commission by 5:00 p.m. the Friday before the Commission meeting will be distributed to the members of the Commission in advance of the meeting and retained as part of the official record.

**Roll Call:** 6:03 p.m.

**Present:** Cho, Choy, Cooper, Fox, Gallegos-Diaz, Hanson, Nicol, Rhodes, Smith,

Sussell, Tran, Watson

**Absent:** Alejos

Public Comment on Non-Agenda Matters – 1 speaker

#### **Minutes for Approval**

Draft minutes for the Commission's consideration and approval.

#### 1. Minutes - November 17, 2021

**Action:** M/S/C (Rhodes/Hanson) to approve the minutes of 11/17/2021. **Vote:** Ayes - Cho, Choy, Cooper, Fox, Gallegos-Diaz, Hanson, Nicol, Rhodes, Smith, Sussell, Tran, Watson; Noes – None; Abstain – None; Absent – Alejos.

#### **Commission Action Items**

The public may comment on each item listed on the agenda for action as the item is taken up.

## 2. Appointment of At-Large Alternate Commissioner

From: Independent Redistricting Commission

Contact: Mark Numainville, Commission Secretary, (510) 981-6900

**Action:** 1 speaker. M/S/C (Hanson/Cho) to select Matthew R. Lewis as the first choice for 5<sup>th</sup> At-Large Alternate and authorize appointment of Frances Dede Dewey as 5<sup>th</sup> At-Large Alternate if Matthew R. Lewis declines the appointment.

**Vote:** Ayes - Cho, Choy, Cooper, Fox, Gallegos-Diaz, Hanson, Nicol, Rhodes, Smith, Sussell, Tran, Watson; Noes - None; Abstain - None; Absent - Alejos.

### 3. Review of Community of Interest (COI) Form Submissions

From: Independent Redistricting Commission

**Recommendation:** Review the information provided by the Map and Community of Interest Review Subcommittee and determine if there are changes needed to the COI classification and analysis.

Contact: Mark Numainville, Commission Secretary, (510) 981-6900

**Action:** 1 speaker. The Commission discussed the classification of the form on the matrix, made adjustments to #10 and #25 to designate them as mappable, and discussed the use and impact of COI forms on the overall process.

#### 4. Review of Map Submissions

From: Independent Redistricting Commission

**Recommendation:** Review the proposed map review and development process, make any needed changes, and take action to adopt.

Contact: Mark Numainville, Commission Secretary, (510) 981-6900

**Action:** 1 speaker. The Commission discussed the proposed map development process and calendar, adjusted the process to move up the 1/27 items to 1/10, to request in-person meetings, and to schedule the additional map review meeting for after the February 28 meeting.

**Action:** M/S/C (Nicol/Rhodes) to appoint Commissioners Nicol and Sussell to the Mao and COI Review Subcommittee.

**Vote:** Ayes - Cho, Choy, Cooper, Fox, Gallegos-Diaz, Hanson, Nicol, Rhodes, Smith, Sussell, Tran, Watson; Noes - None; Abstain - None; Absent - Alejos.

#### **Subcommittee Reports**

#### 5. Verbal Report from Map and Community of Interest Review Subcommittee

- Completed under Item 2 and Item 3

#### Items for Future Agendas and Meeting Calendar

- Discussion of items to be added to the next scheduled meeting calendar
  - Revised Map Development Process
  - December 15 items from proposed process
  - Changes to COI & Map Subcommittee
  - Physical Maps for the Public
- Discussion and possible modifications to the meeting calendar
  - o None

## **Adjournment**

**Action:** M/S/C (Nicol/Gallegos-Diaz) to adjourn the meeting.

Vote: Ayes - Cho, Choy, Cooper, Fox, Gallegos-Diaz, Hanson, Nicol, Rhodes, Smith,

Sussell, Tran, Watson; Noes – None; Abstain – None; Absent – Alejos.

Adjourned at 9:04 p.m.

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct record of the Independent Redistricting Commission meeting held on December 1, 2021.

Mark Numainville	
City Clerk	

#### **Communications**

Communications submitted to the Independent Redistricting Commission are on file in the City Clerk Department at 2180 Milvia Street, 1st Floor, Berkeley, CA and are available upon request by contacting the City Clerk Department at (510) 981-6908 or <a href="mailto:redistricting@cityofberkeley.info">redistricting@cityofberkeley.info</a> or may be viewed through <a href="mailto:Records Online">Records Online</a>.

#### Item #4: Review of Community of Interest Form Submissions

23. Josh Buswell-Charkow

#### **Opinions on redistricting**

24. Cai

#### **Supplemental Communications**

#### Item #3: Review of Community of Interest (COI) Form Submissions

25. Lynn Zamarra, Willard Neighborhood Association

#### **Item #4: Review of Map Submissions**

26. Commissioner Ronald Choy

#### **General Comments**

#### Neighborhoods

27. Carla Woodworth

28. Andrew Johnson, Bateman Neighborhood Association