

## INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

## Thursday, April 1, 2021 6:00 PM

Commission Members:

DISTRICT 1 – JOSE LOPEZ DISTRICT 2 – JESSE SUSSELL DISTRICT 3 – LISA M. TRAN DISTRICT 4 – CURTIS W. HANSON AT-LARGE – DELORES COOPER AT-LARGE – CARLY MICHELE ALEJOS AT-LARGE – SHERRY SMITH DISTRICT 5 – WINSTON RHODES DISTRICT 6 – ELISABETH WATSON DISTRICT 7 – SAMUEL C. TAPLIN DISTRICT 8 – ANDREW FOX AT-LARGE – SIMELIA ROGERS AT-LARGE – RONALD K. CHOY

# PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

Pursuant to Section 3 of Executive Order N-29-20, issued by Governor Newsom on March 17, 2020, this meeting of the Independent Redistricting Commission will be conducted exclusively through teleconference and Zoom videoconference. Please be advised that pursuant to the Executive Order, and to ensure the health and safety of the public by limiting human contact that could spread the COVID-19 virus, there will not be a physical meeting location available.

To access the meeting remotely using the internet: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Use URL <u>https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88272906475</u> If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon on the screen.

To join by phone: Dial **1-669-900-9128 or 1-877-853-5257 (Toll Free)** and Enter Meeting ID: **882 7290 6475.** If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, press \*9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

Written communications submitted by mail or e-mail to the Independent Redistricting Commission by 5:00 p.m. the Friday before the Commission meeting will be distributed to the members of the Commission in advance of the meeting and retained as part of the official record. City offices are currently closed and cannot accept written communications in person.

MINUTES

Roll Call: 6:03 p.m. All present.

#### **Election of Vice-Chair**

Action: M/S/C (Rogers/Cooper) to elect Commissioner Tran as Vice-Chair. Vote: All Ayes.

#### Public Comment on Non-Agenda Matters – 0 speakers

## **Minutes for Approval**

Draft minutes for the Commission's consideration and approval.

#### 1. Minutes - March 17, 2021

Action: M/S/C (Hanson/Rhodes) to approve the minutes of 3/17/21. Vote: All Ayes.

## **Commission Action Items**

The public may comment on each item listed on the agenda for action as the item is taken up.

2. Training - The Commissioner Role & Best Practices (Presentation by Redistricting Partners, City Redistricting Consultant) From: Independent Redistricting Commission Contact: Mark Numainville, Commission Secretary, (510) 981-6900

Action: 1 speaker. Presentation made and discussion held.

## Items for Future Agendas

• None

#### Adjournment

Action: M/S/C (Rogers/Rhodes) to adjourn the meeting. Vote: All Ayes.

Adjourned at 8:19 p.m.

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct record of the Independent Redistricting Commission meeting held on April 1, 2021.

Mark Numainville City Clerk

## Communications

Communications submitted to the Independent Redistricting Commission are on file in the City Clerk Department at 2180 Milvia Street, 1st Floor, Berkeley, CA and are available upon request by contacting the City Clerk Department at (510) 981-6908 or <u>redistricting@cityofberkeley.info</u> or may be viewed through <u>Records Online</u>.