INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, February 10, 2021 6:00 PM

Commission Members:

DISTRICT 1 – JOSE LOPEZ

DISTRICT 5 – WINSTON RHODES

DISTRICT 2 – JESSE SUSSELL

DISTRICT 6 – ELISABETH WATSON

DISTRICT 7 – SAMUEL C. TAPLIN

DISTRICT 4 – CURTIS W. HANSON

DISTRICT 8 – ANDREW FOX

AT-LARGE – VACANT

AT-LARGE – VACANT

AT-LARGE – VACANT

AT-LARGE – VACANT

PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

Pursuant to Section 3 of Executive Order N-29-20, issued by Governor Newsom on March 17, 2020, this meeting of the Independent Redistricting Commission will be conducted exclusively through teleconference and Zoom videoconference. Please be advised that pursuant to the Executive Order, and to ensure the health and safety of the public by limiting human contact that could spread the COVID-19 virus, there will not be a physical meeting location available.

To access the meeting remotely using the internet: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Use URL https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84387403826. If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon on the screen.

To join by phone: Dial **1-669-900-9128 or 1-877-853-5257 (Toll Free)** and Enter Meeting ID: **843 8740 3826**. If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, press *9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

Written communications submitted by mail or e-mail to the Independent Redistricting Commission by 5:00 p.m. the Friday before the Commission meeting will be distributed to the members of the Commission in advance of the meeting and retained as part of the official record. City offices are currently closed and cannot accept written communications in person.

Roll Call: 6:03 p.m.

Present: Fox, Lopez, Rhodes, Sussell, Tran, Watson

Absent: Hanson, Taplin

Commissioner Taplin present at 6:08 p.m.

Commissioner Hanson present at 8:00 p.m.

Minutes for Approval

Draft minutes for the Commission's consideration and approval.

1. Minutes - January 20, 2021

Action: M/S/C (Rhodes/Sussell) to approve the minutes of 1/20/21.

Vote: Ayes - Fox, Lopez, Rhodes, Sussell, Tran, Watson; Noes - None; Abstain -

None; Absent – Hanson, Taplin.

Commission Action Items

The public may comment on each item listed on the agenda for action as the item is taken up.

2. Selection of At-Large Independent Redistricting Commission Members From: Mark Numainville, Commission Secretary

Recommendation: Review the information regarding ranking of applicants and nomination of candidates for the five at-large commissioners and five at-large alternates, and appoint the at-large members for the Independent Redistricting Commission pursuant to Charter Section 9.5 and Berkeley Municipal Code Chapter 2.10.

Financial Implications: None

Contact: Mark Numainville, Commission Secretary, (510) 981-6900

Action: 0 speakers. M/S/C (Rhodes/Tran) to appoint Brenda Joyce Clark, Delores Cooper, and Carly Michele Alejos as at-large members of the Independent Redistricting Commission.

Vote: Ayes - Fox, Lopez, Rhodes, Sussell, Taplin, Tran, Watson; Noes - None; Abstain - None; Absent - Hanson.

Action: M/S/Failed (Rhodes/Sussell) to appoint Ronald Choy as an at-large member of the Independent Redistricting Commission.

Vote: Ayes - Rhodes, Sussell, Taplin, Watson; Noes – Fox, Lopez, Tran; Abstain – None: Absent – Hanson.

Action: M/S/Failed (Fox/Watson) to appoint Cindy Rosenthal as an at-large member of the Independent Redistricting Commission.

Vote: Ayes – Fox, Rhodes, Taplin, Watson; Noes – Sussell, Tran; Abstain – Lopez; Absent – Hanson.

Action: M/S/Carried (Sussell/Watson) to appoint Sherry Smith as an at-large member of the Independent Redistricting Commission.

Vote: Ayes – Fox, Rhodes, Sussell, Taplin, Watson; Noes – None; Abstain – Lopez, Tran; Absent – Hanson.

Action: M/S/C (Rhodes/Lopez) to appoint Simelia Rogers as an at-large member of the Independent Redistricting Commission.

Vote: All Ayes.

Items for Future Agendas

 Staff provided information in brief regarding the limitations of the Brown Act and the limitations on commissioner discussions outside of noticed meetings.

Adjournment

Action: M/S/C (Watson/Rhodes) to adjourn the meeting.

Vote: All Ayes.

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct record of the Independent Redistricting Commission meeting held on February 10, 2021.

Mark Numainville
Commission Secretary

Communications

Communications submitted to the Independent Redistricting Commission are on file in the City Clerk Department at 2180 Milvia Street, 1st Floor, Berkeley, CA and are available upon request by contacting the City Clerk Department at (510) 981-6908 or redistricting@cityofberkeley.info or may be viewed through Records Online.