

# MINUTES OF THE REGULAR PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING February 3, 2021

The meeting was called to order at 7:02 p.m.

Location: Virtual meeting via Zoom

## 1. ROLL CALL:

**Commissioners Present:** Benjamin Beach, Barnali Ghosh, Savlan Hauser, Robb Kapla, Shane Krpata, Mary Kay Lacey, Christine Schildt, Jeff Vincent, and Brad Wiblin.

Commissioners Absent: None.

**Staff Present:** Secretary Alene Pearson, Katrina Lapira, and Paola Boylan.

2. ORDER OF AGENDA: No changes.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: 0

#### 4. PLANNING STAFF REPORT:

- <u>January 26</u> -- City Council Meeting Parking Reform
  - Planning Commission's recommendation was approved with two modifications
    - RPP not available to any residents of new housing units
    - Southside projects will be included in TDM program, but transit passes will not be required for residents
  - A future analysis and overhaul of the RPP program was referred to the City Manager
- February 4 City Town Hall on Race and Equity is POSTPONED
- End of February 4 x 4 will discuss the Demolition Ordinance
- March 17 Planning Commission will discuss Short Term ADU Referral
- February 9 City Council will consider Home Occupations Ordinance Amendments
- Additional policy projects:
  - Housing Element Update
  - Applications for 6 Grants
    - 2 Regional early action planning grants
    - 2 PDA planning grants
    - 2 PDA technical assistance grants
  - Audit of RHNA numbers from 2015-2019
  - General Plan Annual Progress Report 2020
  - Housing Element Annual Progress Report 2020

- North Berkeley and Ashby BART
- Southside EIR Zoning Modifications
- o ZORP

#### Information Items:

None

#### Communications:

January 22 – Staff, Surveys and Town Hall Information

# Late Communications: See agenda for links.

- Supplemental Packet One
- Supplemental Packet Two
- Supplemental Packet Three

### 5. CHAIR REPORT:

- Congrats on parking efforts!
- **6. COMMITTEE REPORT:** Reports by Commission committees or liaisons. In addition to the items below, additional matters may be reported at the meeting.
  - None

# 7. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Motion/Second/Carried (Schildt/Vincent) to approve the Planning Commission Meeting Minutes from January 20, 2020.

Ayes: Beach, Ghosh, Hauser, Kapla, Krpata, Lacey, Schildt, Vincent, and Wiblin. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None. (9-0-0-0)

# 8. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS AND OTHER PLANNING:

See Planning Staff Report, above.

# **AGENDA ITEMS**

# 9. Action: Planning Commission Elections

The Commission held elections for Chair and Vice Chair of the Planning Commission.

Motion/Second/Carried (Krpata/ Vincent) to elect Commissioner Robb Kapla as Chair of the Planning Commission.

Ayes: Beach, Ghosh, Hauser, Kapla, Krpata, Lacey, Schildt, Vincent, and Wiblin. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None. (9-0-0-0)

Motion/Second/Carried (Vincent/ Hauser) to elect Commissioner Shane Krpata as the Vice Chair of the Planning Commission.

Ayes: Ghosh, Hauser, Krpata, Vincent, and Wiblin. Noes: Beach, Kapla, and Lacey. Abstain: Schildt. Absent: None. (5-3-1-0)

#### **Public Comments:** 0

# Discussion: Public Hearing on Business Support Zoning Amendment Referrals – Amusement Device Arcades

Staff summarized the proposed Zoning Ordinance amendments concerning the regulation of Amusement Device Arcades and Amusement Devices.

Motion/Second/Carried (Kapla/ Vincent) to close public hearing on Business Support Zoning Amendment Referrals – Amusement Device Arcades.

Ayes: Beach, Ghosh, Hauser, Kapla, Krpata, Lacey, Schildt, Vincent, and Wiblin. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None (9-0-0-0)

Motion/Second/Carried (Wiblin/Krpata) to recommend that City Council adopt staff's recommendation outlined in the accompanying staff report.

Ayes: Beach, Ghosh, Hauser, Kapla, Krpata, Lacey, Schildt, Vincent, and Wiblin. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None (9-0-0-0)

#### **Public Comments: 1**

Motion/Second/Carried (Lacey/Vincent) to adjourn the Planning Commission meeting at 8:01pm.

Ayes: Beach, Ghosh, Hauser, Kapla, Krpata, Lacey, Schildt, Vincent, and Wiblin. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None (9-0-0-0)

Members in the public in attendance: 5

**Public Speakers: 1 speakers** 

Length of the meeting: 58 minutes

\_\_\_\_\_

Alene Pearson

Planning Commission Secretary